Kyle Petreycik, It’s Always Sweeter in the South, 2012. Medium-density fiberboard, artist tape, Polaroid, and sand-blasted bottle, 22 x 10 x 3 in.

2012 Outstanding Student Achievement In Contemporary Sculpture Awards

The International Sculpture Center is proud to present the winners of the 2012 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Awards. This year’s program attracted a large number of nominees from university sculpture programs in North America and abroad. From a pool of 434 nominees from 174 schools, the jury selected 12 award recipients and 22 honorable mentions. Jurors for the program were Donna Dennis, sculptor, painter, and printmaker, New York; Winifred Lutz, artist and professor emerita at Temple University’s Tyler School of Art, Philadelphia; and Joseph Becherer, director and curator of sculpture, Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, Grand Rapids, Michigan. This annual award was founded in 1994 to recognize young sculptors and encourage their continued commitment to the field of sculpture, as well as to recognize the award recipients’ faculty sponsors and their institutions…see the entire article in the print version of October’s Sculpture magazine.